Alumni Meet 2022 Department of Chemistry, Dibrugarh University 24thDecember 2022

The Department of Chemistry, Dibrugarh University has successfully organized its second edition of Alumni Meet on December 24. The inaugural session of the event was organized with around 130 participants in the Indira Miri Conference Hall, with gracious presence of many distinguished and notable alumni of the department of Chemistry. Dr. Bolin Chetia, Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry, Dibrugarh University delivered his welcome address followed by inaugural address by Prof. Dipak Chetia, Dean, Research and Development, Dibrugarh University. In the beginning of the programme tribute was paid to the departed soul with a one minute of silence. The second edition of the Alumni meet was addressed by Honourable Dr. Romesh Chandra Boruah, former Sc-H/Outstanding Scientist (Acting Director and CSIR Emeritus Scientist, CSIR-NEIST, Jorhat), Dr. Rajani Kanta Gogoi, Retired manager of Assam Petrochemicals Limited, Dr. Binoy Kumar Saikia, Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize Awardee, Principal Scientist, Coal and Energy Division, CSIR-NEIST, Jorhat, Dr. Mukut Gohain, Co-inventor of the antibiotic Enmetazobactam-Head (R&D)-Chemical Process Technologies, South Africa, Prof. Pradip Kumar Gogoi, Former faculty of Chemistry Department. Prof. Geetika Borah, Head, Department of Chemistry addressed the glorious journey of the department from its establishment to the present scenario briefly in her speech. The distinguished guests delivered wonderful talks by recollecting their memories in the department and emphasized the role of alumni meet for development of institutions and the society. With strong urged to strengthen the alumni association in future days, they also highlighted the scope of collaboration to the Industries and Academiafor betterment of the society. In the meeting, a souvenir 'Smriti Sourav' was inaugurated. The vote of thanks was delivered by Dr. Rahul Kar, Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry, Dibrugarh University. After the formal session, Alumni meet was started and presided over by Dr. Rajani Kanta Gogoi. During the meeting, the earlier committee was dissolved, and a new committee was formed along with discussions of several agendas regarding alumni association. In the afternoon, a session of memory collection named "*Antaranga Alap*" was organized in the department where new and old faces had shared their journey and the memories. The end session of the alumni meet was started with a cultural function by the students and the research scholars of the department in presence of Honourable Vice Chancellor, Prof. Jiten Hazarika, and Registrar, Dr. Paramananda Sonowal of Dibrugarh University.









